First Team News NewsNow

Manchester United’s Registered UEFA Champions League Squad  

Manchester United drew PSV Eindhoven, CSKA Moscow and VfL Wolfsburg in group B of the UEFA Champions League. Their campaign commences with an away trip to Eindhoven on 15th September.

Below is the squad that Louis van Gaal has selected for his European campaign:

David De Gea
Phil Jones
Marcos Rojo
Juan Mata
Anthony Martial
Wayne Rooney
Chris Smalling
Michael Carrick
Daley Blind
Ashley Young
James Wilson
Sergio Romero
Ander Herrera
Nick Powell
Luke Shaw
Antonio Valencia
Marouane Fellaini
Morgan Schneiderlin
Guillermo Varela
Bastian Schweinsteiger
Paddy McNair
Jesse Lingard
Matteo Darmian
Andreas Pereira
Sam Johnstone

Notice the inclusion of David De Gea, meaning that if the Reds were to sell him to Real Madrid in January, he would be cup ties for the remainder of the tournament, and so couldn’t play for Los Blancos in the Champions League.

The only non-first team player in the squad is Guillermo Varela, a 22 year old Uruguayan who was on loan to Real Madrid Castilla last season. Sir Alex Ferguson gave him a 2 week trial in his last month as boss. The club then signed him when Moyes’ term began.

Enjoy that? Give it a share!

By Ben

Recently graduated university, life now revolves around sports, and writing about sport.

Has an intricate knowledge of Ice Hockey and World Football but also dabbles in American Football and Heavyweight boxing.

He's a very versatile and hard working writer, who uses exceptional English in each article.

Trying to get his name out there to hopefully become a professional sports writer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.