News Uncategorized

Manchester United – Top Players in the History of the Club

Without a doubt, Manchester United has had a long and colourful history. Football fans love watching them live, playing the game themselves, or even finding ways to win money playing one of the many Manchester United themed football slot machine games available online.

The club has certainly had its ups and downs, but has always been able to come out on top. Throughout its history, the club has had its share of the greatest players of all time. Here are the top players in the history of Manchester United.

Phil Neville

Phil Neville served in the club for a total of eight years and won his fair share of medals during this period, including a total of 6 league titles, and 3 FA Cups, as well as the Champions League.

Billy Meredith

Experts say that Billy Meredith (also fondly called the Welsh Wizard) was the very first legend at United. His skills earned him a place in the national spotlight, and he was able to win two titles, in 1908 and 1911.

Ruud van Nistelrooy

The Dutch forward scored a whopping 100 goals in his first 3 seasons at the club, earning him a place in the history books of United. As a goal scorer, Ruud van Nistelrooy was definitely one of a kind.

David Beckham

Arguably one of the most popular names in recent football history, David Beckham managed to bring the club to the forefront with his goals (particularly from midfield), and he also served as England captain whilst at Old Trafford.

Bryan Robson

Also known as Captain Marvel, Bryan Robson is still the longest-serving skipper in the history of the club, which he joined in 1981. He was able to win two league titles, along with 3 FA Cups, and still serves today as United’s Global Ambassador.

Eric Cantona

This Frenchman signed on from United’s rival, Leeds, in the autumn of 1992 and was a game changer, helping the club attain the league title in 1993. The club achieved a period of strength and dominance during Cantona’s time at Old Trafford.

George Best, Bobby Charlton, and Denis Law

Known as United’s ‘Holy Trinity’, these three players certainly left their mark at United. George Best managed to score an astounding 179 goals in a total of 470 games, whilst Bobby Charlton remains the leading United goal scorer, with his 249 goals. In fact, Charlton is one of only two English players to have won both the European and the World Cup. Denis Law, also named ‘The King’ scored a total of 237 goals in a total of 404 games and appearances while with United.


Enjoy that? Give it a share!

By RedManc

RedMancunian is the number one source for Manchester United news, insight and opinion on the most successful football club in the English top flight. RedMancunian was founded at the end of the 2011/2012 football season. We hope to provide insight on football matters related to Manchester United and provides a sense of what the club was and is all about. Follow RedMancunian on Twitter - @RedMancunian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.