First Team News NewsNow

Manchester United announce squad for Europa League clash

Manchester United have revealed which squad members have travelled to Russia prior to Thursday’s Europa League last 16 tie with FC Rostov. The first leg, which kicks off at 6pm BST will see Jose Mourinho’s side looking to build on their 4-0 aggregate victory over Saint-Etienne in the last round and progress further in a competition that they’ve never won, either in its current format, or when it was referred to as the UEFA Cup.

Embed from Getty Images

According to, the travelling squad is as follows:

De Gea, Romero, O’Hara; Valencia, Jones, Rojo, Smalling, Blind, Darmian, Young; Carrick, Herrera, Fellaini, Pogba, Mata, Lingard, Mkhitaryan; Martial, Rashford, Ibrahimovic.

Notable absentees from this list are Luke Shaw and Wayne Rooney, who both started Saturday’s 1-1 draw with Bournemouth at Old Trafford, and Bastian Schweinsteiger, who wasn’t in the squad for last weekend’s game. Henrikh Mkhitaryan returns having been injured in United’s 0-1 win over Saint-Etienne two weeks ago.

Enjoy that? Give it a share!

By Kevin T

Kevin Thatcher is a freelance journalist who's work has featured in various national and international publications, including Mail Online & The Mirror. Kevin has been a Manchester United season ticket holder in South Stand for many years, and writes for RedMancunian to combine both his love for writing, and club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.