First Team Match Day Tour 2013

CONFIRMED SQUAD: A-League All Stars vs Manchester United

A-League All Stars vs Manchester United (Friendly) 20th July 2013

09:40am – Robin van Persie and David de Gea have joined the squad in Sydney.

Of the players available in Bangkok, only Anders Lindegaard and Michael Keane failed to get minutes on the pitch.

The A-League side was decided through a voting process. The weighted voting system gave 50% to the fan vote, 20% to the Expert Panel vote, 20% to the players via the PFA Team of the Year selection and 10% to coach Ange Postecoglou.

More than 30,000 A-league fans voted by submitting their starting XI, plus four substitutes.

Sydney’s ANZ Stadium (aka Stadium Australia) has a record capacity crowd of 114,714 – for the Sydney 2000 Olympics closing ceremony. The stadium has since been downsized.

Ex-United midfielder, Liam Miller, played 22 times for the reds, scoring 2 goals (vs Crewe and Barnet). He was sold to Sunderland in the summer of 2006.

If looking for A-League All Stars vs Manchester Utd streaming online, click here.

10:01pm – The Manchester United team news for A-League All Stars away in the their first pre-season match have just been released and is below:


Starting XI:

Lindegaard, Rafael, Jones, Ferdinand, Evra, Zaha, Cleverley, Carrick, Giggs, Lingard, Welbeck

Enjoy that? Give it a share!

By RedManc

RedMancunian is the number one source for Manchester United news, insight and opinion on the most successful football club in the English top flight. RedMancunian was founded at the end of the 2011/2012 football season. We hope to provide insight on football matters related to Manchester United and provides a sense of what the club was and is all about. Follow RedMancunian on Twitter - @RedMancunian

2 replies on “CONFIRMED SQUAD: A-League All Stars vs Manchester United”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.